CrowdfundedWealth
Reviews · Platform teardown

NASB DSCR Review 2026: The Other FDIC-Insured DSCR Lender — 1927-Founded Missouri Thrift With a 2012 OCC Order in the Rearview

By Jorge··45 min read
Affiliate Disclosure: Some links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our ratings. Learn more.

Quick Answer

North American Savings Bank, FSB (FDIC Certificate #29708, OCC Charter #703927, federally chartered savings bank / thrift under OCC supervision, headquartered at 12498 S US Highway 71, Grandview, Missouri 64030) is the other FDIC-insured DSCR lender in the real-estate-crowdfunding affiliate universe — sister institution to Quontic Bank. NASB is a 1927-founded Missouri thrift, converted to a federal stock savings bank charter in 1992, parent NASB Financial, Inc. trades on OTCQX under symbol NASB (the company delisted from Nasdaq in 2014 — a fact that nearly every aggregator gets wrong by still calling it "NASDAQ:NASB"). Total assets $2.97 billion at Dec 31, 2025; customer plus brokered deposits $1.87B; stockholders' equity $436.6M (14.7%) — a meaningfully larger, better-capitalized balance sheet than Quontic's approx. $830M. FY2025 (ended Sep 30, 2025) net income $28.7M; Q1 FY2026 (ended Mar 31, 2026) net income $9.4M or $1.30 EPS; six months ended Mar 31 2026 NI $17.7M / $2.45 EPS, up from $13.8M / $1.90 EPS prior year. Non-QM lending is the strategic core — approx. 90% of NASB's portfolio is non-QM, and on April 7, 2026 the bank launched "Profile Mortgage Solutions by NASB" as a DBA for the non-QM product line. DSCR product (verified on nasb.com/lending/solutions/non-qm-loans/dscr-loan and the DSCR FAQ page): minimum DSCR 1.10x-1.20x depending on FICO and LTV, minimum FICO 700 for standard cases, minimum loan $175,000 (with exceptions inside Greater Kansas City), maximum LTV 80% purchase / 70% cash-out (740 FICO needed for the 70% cash-out tier; otherwise 60% max cash-out), eligible SFR, 2-4 unit, condos, PUDs, no prepayment penalty (a real differentiator), no foreign-national program, eligible nationwide EXCEPT New York state, Chicago metro, and Baltimore metro — NASB is NOT a 50-state lender, a point that contradicts how some aggregators describe the bank. REGULATORY HISTORY — HONEST DISCLOSURE: NASB was placed under an OTS Formal Agreement dated April 30, 2010 following a January 11, 2010 examination that found "unsafe or unsound banking practices." That agreement was replaced and superseded by an OCC Cease-and-Desist Consent Order dated May 22, 2012, imposing minimum 10% Tier 1 leverage + 13% total risk-based capital ratio. NASB recapitalized aggressively — by Dec 31, 2013 it reported 16.8% Tier 1 leverage and 24% total risk-based capital — and the OCC publicly terminated the consent order in March 2014. Both orders are CLOSED. A separate Order of Prohibition was issued against former Universal Banker John S. Werner for embezzlement from a customer account; this is an individual action, not a bank-level finding. NASB reported NO complaints to the CFPB in its most recent reporting period per The Mortgage Reports — a meaningfully cleaner federal consumer-complaint record than most non-bank DSCR peers. BBB Accredited since 2008, A+ rating, 10 complaints closed in last 3 years. Most recent OCC CRA Performance Evaluation dated August 17, 2020 (covering 2017-2019): Satisfactory overall, Lending Test High Satisfactory, Investment Test Low Satisfactory, Service Test High Satisfactory — a current, public, comparatively transparent CRA record (vs Quontic's 7-year-old 2018 PE). CEO Enrique Venegas (effective Oct 1, 2024 — replaced retiring Thomas B. Wagers); Chairman David H. Hancock (family-controlled board; son Patrick Hancock appointed director as part of explicit Hancock-family succession planning). NASB is NOT a securitization sponsor — no public KBRA or DBRS shelf surfaced — and NASB exited consumer-direct lending on January 11, 2023, refocusing on portfolio retention. No public affiliate program for NASB DSCR — every link in this article is a generic destination URL and CrowdfundedWealth earns nothing if you fund a loan with them.

CSV · 29 rows

The data table in this article, as CSV

The 29-row table from this article as CSV: Dimension, NASB, Quontic Bank. Sources are listed in the article.

Why this review exists

We just published our forensic review of Quontic Bank's DSCR program — the other FDIC-insured DSCR lender. SERP probes for queries like "fdic insured dscr lender" return nasb.com as the #1 organic result and the citation source for Google's AI Overview. CrowdfundedWealth needs its own forensic review of NASB to compete on that intent — and to do honestly what aggregator reviews do poorly, which is disclose closed enforcement history, distinguish NASB's product from Quontic's product, and correct the half-dozen factual errors that aggregator content has propagated about NASB.

This review uses primary sources only for institutional facts: FDIC BankFind for Certificate #29708, OCC's CRA Performance Evaluation PDF dated August 17, 2020 (downloaded and read locally from occ.gov/static/cra/craeval/dec20/703927.pdf), OCC and OTS enforcement archives, the OpenSanctions OCC-actions database, NASB Financial Inc.'s press releases and financial results announcements through May 6, 2026, NASB's own DSCR product pages at nasb.com, and BBB / Trustpilot / Consumer Affairs review aggregators. We have no affiliate relationship with NASB Financial, Inc. or North American Savings Bank, FSB. We earn nothing if you apply for a mortgage, open a deposit account, or close a DSCR loan with NASB. Every nasb.com link in this article is a generic destination URL.

1. Institutional facts

FactValue
Legal nameNorth American Savings Bank, F.S.B.
FDIC Certificate #29708
OCC Charter #703927
Charter classFederal Savings Bank (thrift) — OCC-supervised. NOT a national commercial bank.
Founded1927 as North American Savings Association; converted to federally chartered stock savings bank in 1992
Headquarters12498 S US Highway 71, Grandview, MO 64030 (relocated to current address August 31, 2022)
Branches10 full-service Missouri branches (Kansas City MO-KS MMSA + St. Joseph / Buchanan County) per 2020 CRA PE; serves nationally via mortgage lending
Holding companyNASB Financial, Inc. — unitary thrift holding company
Stock listingOTCQX: NASB — delisted from Nasdaq in 2014; still files financial disclosures publicly
Approximate market cap (May 2026)approx. $282.9 million / approx. 7.2M shares outstanding
Total assets (Dec 31, 2025)$2.97 billion
Total deposits (Dec 31, 2025)$1.87 billion (customer + brokered)
Stockholders' equity (Dec 31, 2025)$436.6 million — equity-to-assets approx. 14.7%
FY2025 net income (year ended Sep 30, 2025)$28.7 million
Q1 FY2026 net income (Q ended Dec 31, 2025)$8.3M / $1.15 EPS
Q2 FY2026 net income (Q ended Mar 31, 2026)$9.4M / $1.30 EPS
Six months ended Mar 31, 2026NI $17.7M / $2.45 EPS (vs $13.8M / $1.90 prior-year)
Quarterly dividend (declared May 2026)$0.35 / share (annualized $1.40)
Most recent OCC CRA Performance EvaluationAugust 17, 2020 (covering Jan 1, 2017 - Dec 31, 2019) — overall rating "Satisfactory"; Lending High Satisfactory, Investment Low Satisfactory, Service High Satisfactory
Prior OCC CRA Performance EvaluationJuly 10, 2017 — also "Satisfactory"
BBB AccreditationAccredited since 2008 — A+ rating, 10 complaints closed in last 3 years
Non-QM share of portfolioapprox. 90%
2026 product brand"Profile Mortgage Solutions by NASB" — DBA launched April 7, 2026 for the non-QM product line

Charter class clarification. Like Quontic, NASB is a federally chartered savings bank (thrift) supervised by the OCC — not a national commercial bank, not a state-chartered bank. OCC thrift rules incentivize 1-4 family residential mortgage portfolio retention, which is precisely the strategic posture NASB has adopted (more on this in section 5).

Aggregator-versus-primary error to correct (#1): Many aggregator reviews and recent posts still describe NASB Financial as "NASDAQ:NASB." That is incorrect as of 2026. NASB Financial delisted from Nasdaq in 2014 and currently trades on the OTCQX under symbol NASB. Refer to the OTCQX listing at otcmarkets.com/stock/NASB for the canonical reference.

2. DSCR product details (verified from nasb.com)

Standard DSCR — single-family rental investor

ParameterValue
Minimum DSCR1.10x - 1.20x (varies by FICO + LTV combination)
Minimum FICO700 for standard cases
Minimum loan amount$175,000 (exceptions inside Greater Kansas City and surrounding areas)
Maximum LTV (purchase)approx. 80% (20% minimum down)
Maximum LTV (rate/term refi)approx. 80%
Maximum LTV (cash-out refi)70% requires 740 FICO; otherwise 60% maximum cash-out LTV
Eligible property typesSFR, 2-4 unit, condos, PUDs
Eligible statesAll EXCEPT New York state, Chicago metro, Baltimore metro
First-time investorsYes — eligible with strong credit profile
Foreign nationalsNo dedicated foreign-national DSCR program (verified absence)
Entity ownershipLLC, S-Corp, C-Corp accepted (see DSCR Loans for LLCs page at nasb.com/lending/solutions/non-qm-loans/dscr-loans-for-llcs)
Income documentationNone — no W-2s, no tax returns, no DTI calculation; property cash flow only
Prepayment penaltyNone — explicitly disclosed on NASB's DSCR product pages
Term optionsFixed and ARM options (specifics disclosed at LO level)
Interest-only optionAvailable on certain product variants
ServicingRetained in-house — NASB does NOT sell the servicing to a third-party subservicer

Aggregator-versus-primary error to correct (#2): Some competitor reviews describe NASB as a "nationwide 50-state DSCR lender." This is incorrect. NASB explicitly excludes New York state, the Chicago metropolitan area, and the Baltimore metropolitan area from DSCR eligibility. Borrowers in those geographies should not waste an application — refer to Visio Lending, Velocity Financial, or another non-bank lender instead.

Aggregator-versus-primary error to correct (#3): A surprising number of "best DSCR lender" listicles imply that NASB will take 660 FICO scores. The NASB DSCR product pages and FAQ make clear that 700 is the floor for standard cases and that 740 is required for the maximum 70% cash-out LTV tier. Going under 700 is generally a different non-QM product, not the DSCR program.

What NASB does NOT publicly disclose

  • Specific rate ranges — NASB directs all rate inquiries to "speak with a loan officer"
  • Reserves requirement
  • Points and fees schedule
  • Specific maximum loan amount cap (NASB will go meaningfully above the $175K minimum but does not publish a cap; for thrift-charter exposure-concentration reasons, the practical ceiling per borrower is well under the $3M-$3.5M cap that non-bank securitization-funded peers offer)

This rate-transparency gap is identical to Quontic's. Both FDIC-insured DSCR lenders force the borrower into a loan-officer phone call before quoting. Non-bank peers like Kiavi and Visio Lending provide more rate-shop transparency.

Short-term rental DSCR (Airbnb / Vrbo)

NASB has a dedicated Short-Term Rental DSCR landing page at nasb.com/landing-pages/dscr-adwords-str. Underwriting is similar to the standard DSCR, with the difference being that the qualifying property cash flow is calculated from market STR projections (typically AirDNA or comparable subject-property market data) rather than a long-term-lease-implied rent figure.

DSCR Loans for LLCs

NASB offers a dedicated DSCR loan track for LLC and corporate borrowers at nasb.com/lending/solutions/non-qm-loans/dscr-loans-for-llcs. Same 1.10-1.20x DSCR / 700 FICO / $175K minimum framework; entity-ownership documentation is the primary differentiator (operating agreement, certificate of good standing, EIN, etc.).

3. Origination scale, non-QM positioning, and "Profile Mortgage Solutions"

  • Non-QM is approx. 90% of NASB's portfolio — verified across third-party reviews and NASB's own marketing. This is a meaningfully more non-QM-concentrated balance sheet than Quontic Bank, where non-QM is a smaller share of total lending.
  • "Profile Mortgage Solutions by NASB" — DBA launched April 7, 2026. This is a strategic non-QM brand consolidation aimed at the broker channel and direct-to-investor traffic. The legal entity, FDIC insurance, OCC supervision, and underwriting remain NASB; "Profile" is the customer-facing brand for the non-QM product line.
  • Exit from consumer-direct lending (January 11, 2023). NASB exited the consumer-direct residential mortgage business that had originated loans for sale into the secondary market. CEO Thomas Wagers cited "rapid interest rate increases in 2022, low or shrinking housing inventory, and double-digit median home price increases." Pretax exit charges $3.8M-$4.6M in Q2 calendar 2023. Approximately 11 named layoffs (10 Arizona + 1 Ohio) plus remote terminations in FL, IL, KS, MO, TX. Effective March 7, 2023.
  • Strategic implication of the consumer-direct exit: NASB stopped competing in the agency-eligible / GSE-saleable retail mortgage market and refocused on portfolio-retained non-QM. This is a structurally cleaner business — NASB now keeps what it originates, services in-house, and does not depend on secondary-market pricing windows.
  • Scotsman Guide ranking visibility: NASB does not appear in the publicly visible Scotsman Guide Top Non-QM Volume snapshot for 2024-2025 — but Scotsman Guide rankings require submission and many bank lenders do not submit, so the absence is not dispositive. [UNVERIFIED] — specific 2024 / 2025 non-QM origination volume number for NASB was not extractable from primary sources without paid Scotsman Guide access.

4. Regulatory history — two CLOSED enforcement orders + one individual prohibition

This is the section most aggregator reviews either skip or whitewash. The honest picture is that NASB had a real enforcement cycle from 2010 through 2014, which it resolved cleanly.

ActionDateRegulatorSubstance / Status
OTS Formal AgreementApril 30, 2010Office of Thrift Supervision (since folded into OCC)Following January 11, 2010 examination — findings of unsafe or unsound banking practices and/or violations of law or regulation. **Replaced and superseded by the May 22, 2012 OCC Consent Order.**
OCC Cease-and-Desist Consent OrderMay 22, 2012OCCRequired minimum **10% Tier 1 leverage** + **13% total risk-based capital** ratios. Required reduction of troubled assets, review of all credit relationships over $1 million, mitigation of credit-concentration risk, written three-year strategic plan, and semi-annual independent loan review program. **TERMINATED by OCC in March 2014.**
Order of Prohibition — John S. Wernerindividual actionOCCFormer Universal Banker at NASB Grandview MO. Used position to embezzle funds from a customer's account, without customer's knowledge or authorization. Loss to the bank. **This is an individual-officer action, not a bank-level finding.**

Termination evidence. Per the March 21, 2014 American Banker report and the OCC's contemporaneous press release, NASB was one of 11 banks freed from enforcement actions that week. At the time of termination, NASB reported 16.8% Tier 1 leverage ratio and 24% total risk-based capital ratio as of December 31, 2013 — comfortably above the 10% / 13% minimums imposed by the 2012 order. The bank had also completed the required strategic plan and loan-review reforms.

Aggregator-versus-primary error to correct (#4): A handful of aggregator reviews still list NASB's 2010 OTS Formal Agreement as an "ongoing" enforcement action — referencing data from the OpenSanctions OCC-actions database, which preserves historical entries with start dates but limited update tracking on terminations. As of May 2026, both the 2010 OTS agreement and the 2012 OCC C&D are CLOSED. The 2012 order was publicly terminated by the OCC in March 2014. Treating the 2010 entry as "active" is a misreading of the database.

CFPB record. Per The Mortgage Reports 2026 review, NASB reported no complaints to the CFPB in its most recent reporting period. The CFPB Consumer Complaint Database remains the canonical reference — readers can verify at consumerfinance.gov/data-research/consumer-complaints/search?company=North+American+Savings+Bank before applying.

Civil litigation we surfaced.

  • North American Savings Bank, F.S.B. v. Nelson et al (5th Cir. 2024, affirming N.D. Miss. judgment) — NASB as plaintiff, enforcing a $13 million Taylor Bend Delaware-statutory-trust commercial mortgage guaranty against Patrick and Brian Nelson after a COVID-era default. NASB won at trial; Fifth Circuit affirmed. This is a commercial-borrower case, NOT a consumer-class action.
  • North American Savings Bank, F.S.B. v. Patrick Nelson et al (C.D. Cal. 8:2025cv02065) — follow-on related litigation. NASB as plaintiff again.
  • No consumer class actions surfaced in our research. No TCPA class action. No CFPB consent order. No DOJ qui tam False Claims Act settlement.

This is meaningfully cleaner than Quontic Bank's civil-litigation record (Quontic has an active TCPA class action over June 2019 marketing calls). NASB's only material civil cases are loans it is enforcing as plaintiff, which is structurally favorable from a "is this lender trustworthy" framing.

5. Servicing & securitization

  • NASB retains servicing in-house. Per nasb.com/lending/solutions/loan-servicing pages and the post-January-2023 strategic posture, NASB services its own loans rather than sub-servicing through a third party. This is unusual in the post-2020 market where most originators sell servicing rights or use a contracted subservicer.
  • NASB is NOT a securitization sponsor. No public KBRA, Morningstar DBRS, S&P Global, Fitch, or Moody's RMBS rating-action reports surfaced under NASB or Profile Mortgage Solutions as issuer or sponsor. NASB's DSCR loans stay on the bank's balance sheet — total assets $2.97B against approximately $2.4B+ in net loans means the bank has meaningful headroom but is not a scale securitization machine like Angel Oak (NYSE:AOMR), Velocity Financial (46 deals / $10.6B lifetime through year-end 2025), Visio Lending (approx. $2B / 11 S&P-rated deals via the Beach Point Trust shelf), or Kiavi (LHOME shelf).
  • NASB BUYS non-QM whole loans. Per the Whole Loan Trading page at nasb.com/whole-loan-trading---mortgage-purchases, NASB purchases seasoned and non-seasoned mortgage notes and "scratch and dent" loans either individually or in bulk. This is a portfolio-bank tactic to deploy deposit liquidity into seasoned non-QM paper at attractive spreads — not a securitization business, but it confirms the portfolio-retention orientation.

Strategic implication for the DSCR borrower. A NASB DSCR loan is held to maturity on the bank's balance sheet, serviced in-house by NASB. This means:

  1. No mid-loan servicing transfers — the customer experience is consistent from day 1 through payoff.
  2. No CMBS / non-QM ABS pricing whiplash in NASB's rate-setting decisions. The rate you get is driven by NASB's deposit-funding cost (1.87B in deposits is a stable funding base) plus the thrift's required risk premium — not by the next securitization window.
  3. A real ceiling on max loan size. Where Angel Oak and Kiavi can offer $3M-$3.5M single loans into a securitization pipeline, NASB has to manage thrift-charter loan-concentration rules against a $2.97B balance sheet. Realistic per-borrower exposure is well below the non-bank peers.

6. Leadership

RoleNameTenure Notes
Chief Executive Officer & PresidentEnrique VenegasEffective October 1, 2024. Joined NASB 2013 as Chief Credit Officer; previously EVP and Chief Lending Officer. approx. 20+ years total financial services experience, 11+ years at NASB. Also a director.
Chairman of the BoardDavid H. HancockLong-tenured chairman; the Hancock family is the controlling shareholder family of NASB Financial.
Director (Hancock family succession appointment)Patrick HancockSon of David H. Hancock and Mrs. Hancock. Appointed to the board explicitly as part of the Hancock family's succession planning process. Classified as non-independent due to the family relationship.
Director (long-tenured non-independent)Mrs. HancockWife of David H. Hancock, on the board since 1995. Non-independent director.
Former CEO (recently retired)Thomas B. WagersAnnounced retirement following the annual stockholders meeting in January 2025. Continues to serve on the Board of Directors. Served as CEO from spring 2022 through Sept 30 2024 transition.
Former CEOPaul ThomasResigned effective March 25, 2022 from CEO and board positions of both NASB Financial Inc. and North American Savings Bank, F.S.B. Appointed CEO in 2013; played a "major part in the success and growth of NASB" per company statement.

Governance signal — Hancock family control. NASB Financial is a closely controlled, family-influenced thrift holding company. David H. Hancock is the long-tenured chairman; his wife has served on the board since 1995; his son was appointed director explicitly to continue family-succession planning. This is structurally different from Quontic (founded by Steven Schnall + George Lazaridis as a turnaround thrift in 2009, no family-succession dynamic). It is also structurally different from publicly traded scale lenders like Angel Oak Mortgage REIT (NYSE:AOMR) where institutional investors dominate the cap table.

For a borrower, family control of a 1927-founded portfolio thrift is a mixed signal: positive in that incentives align with long-term franchise health rather than next-quarter ABS pricing; cautious in that minority-shareholder governance concerns are real at any closely controlled OTCQX issuer.

7. Borrower reviews

SourceRating / Data
BBBAccredited since 2008, A+ rating, 10 complaints closed in last 3 years per BBB Kansas City profile
CFPB Consumer Complaint DatabaseNASB reported no complaints to the CFPB in the most recent reporting period per The Mortgage Reports
TrustpilotMixed; some 1-star reviews from VA-loan borrowers around escrow analysis errors, payment processing, and insurance-policy misapplication
Consumer AffairsMixed; common negative themes around servicing communication and modification disputes
The Mortgage Reports rating2.8 / 5 — citing above-market rates and higher-than-average origination fees
Bauer Financial5 Stars safety/soundness rating

Honest reading of the reviews. Like virtually every mortgage servicer, NASB has a long tail of frustrated customer reviews on Trustpilot, Yelp, and Consumer Affairs. The specific themes — escrow analysis disputes, insurance-payment misapplications, payment-processing errors, modification-request delays — are identical to the complaint patterns at virtually every U.S. mortgage servicer and should not be treated as NASB-specific.

The signals that ARE NASB-specific:

  • BBB Accredited since 2008 with A+ — better than Quontic Bank, which is NOT BBB-accredited.
  • CFPB complaint count "none reported" in the most recent period — this is a meaningfully positive signal vs the average non-bank DSCR lender.
  • Bauer Financial 5 Stars safety/soundness rating — Bauer is conservative and a 5-star rating is real evidence of capital adequacy and asset quality.

8. How NASB compares to Quontic Bank

NASB and Quontic Bank are the two FDIC-insured DSCR lenders in the real-estate-crowdfunding affiliate universe. The comparison matters because they look superficially similar (both federally chartered savings banks, both OCC-supervised, both portfolio-retaining DSCR lenders) but diverge sharply on the dimensions that actually drive borrower outcomes.

DimensionNASBQuontic Bank
CharterFederal Savings Bank (thrift), OCCFederal Savings Bank (thrift), OCC
FDIC Cert#29708#57807
Founded**1927** — Missouri thrift2009 acquisition of Golden First Bank (NY)
HQGrandview, MOAstoria, Queens, NY
Total assets**$2.97B** (Dec 2025)approx. $830M-$853M
Stockholders' equity / equity to assets**$436.6M / 14.7%**approx. $85.6M / approx. 10%
FY net incomeFY25 **$28.7M**; Q1 FY26 $9.4MApprox. $3.0M annual run-rate (3.53% ROE)
Open regulatory orders**None** (2010 + 2012 BOTH CLOSED)**Three** open: 2018 OCC, 2022 OCC C&D, 2023 Fed Written Agreement
Permanent CEO?**Yes — Enrique Venegas** since Oct 1 2024**No** — interim CEO since Aug 2022 founder death
Most recent OCC CRA PE**August 17, 2020** — Satisfactory**December 3, 2018** — Satisfactory (stale)
CDFI certified**No****Yes** — since 2015 + National LMI 2019
DSCR floor1.10x-1.20x1.10x
Min FICO**700** (740 for 70% cash-out)**680**
Max LTV (purchase)approx. **80%**75%
Max LTV (cash-out)**70% requires 740 FICO**; else 60%75% (with $500K cash-in-hand cap)
Min loan amount**$175,000**Not published — meaningfully smaller floor
Max loan amountNot published — bank-concentration capped**$2M-$2.5M**
Prepayment penalty**None**Not publicly disclosed
Foreign nationals**No** dedicated program**Yes — 80% LTV** dedicated program
First-time investor friendlinessStandard**Higher** — both first-time investors AND first-time homebuyers eligible
LMI-tract underwriting tailwind**No****Yes** (CDFI 60% target-market compliance)
Eligible geographies**All states EXCEPT NY / Chicago metro / Baltimore metro**All US states + DC
BBB Accreditation**Accredited since 2008, A+****NOT Accredited**
CFPB complaints (recent period)**None reported****[UNVERIFIED]** — not extractable via WebFetch
Active class actionsNone surfaced**Active TCPA class action** (June 2019 marketing calls)
Holds vs sells DSCR loans**Holds / portfolio****Holds / portfolio**
Securitization sponsor?NoNo
Family control**Hancock family** — Chairman + non-independent directorsFounder Schnall + Lazaridis (post-Schnall-death governance)
Bitcoin / crypto productNo**Yes** — Bitcoin Rewards Checking (1.5% BTC, debit)

Where NASB WINS over Quontic:

  • Better capitalized — 14.7% equity to assets vs Quontic's approx. 10%; $436.6M equity vs $85.6M.
  • No open regulatory orders. NASB's 2010-2012 enforcement cycle is fully closed. Quontic has three open orders as of May 2026.
  • Permanent CEO (Enrique Venegas since Oct 1 2024) vs Quontic's interim CEO going on four years.
  • Current OCC CRA PE (August 2020) vs Quontic's stale December 2018 PE.
  • No prepayment penalty explicitly disclosed — Quontic does not publicly disclose its prepay structure.
  • No active consumer class actions — Quontic has an active TCPA class action.
  • BBB Accredited A+ since 2008 — Quontic is NOT BBB Accredited.
  • No complaints to CFPB in the most recent reporting period (per The Mortgage Reports).
  • Single-source-of-truth servicing in-house, on a larger balance sheet — fewer practical exposure-concentration constraints than Quontic's approx. $580M net loans.

Where Quontic WINS over NASB:

  • Foreign national DSCR program at 80% LTV. NASB has none.
  • Treasury-certified CDFI status since 2015 — a real LMI-tract underwriting tailwind on Section 8, workforce housing, and Qualified Census Tracts. NASB has no CDFI designation.
  • Lower FICO floor (680 vs NASB's 700; 740 NASB requirement for 70% cash-out is restrictive).
  • All US states + DC eligible. NASB explicitly excludes NY, Chicago metro, and Baltimore metro.
  • First-time investor / first-time homebuyer friendliness — Quontic's underwriting culture is explicitly first-time-friendly. NASB is more conventional credit-strong.
  • Bitcoin Rewards Checking for the depositor side — irrelevant for the DSCR borrower, but worth noting for total-relationship banking.
  • Lower minimum loan amount. Quontic does not publish a $175K floor — small-ticket urban investors can apply.

Recommendation framing. For a credit-strong (700+ FICO) investor with a $175,000+ loan size in any state outside NY / Chicago metro / Baltimore metro, NASB is the cleaner choice between the two FDIC-insured DSCR lenders. For a foreign-national investor, a Section 8 / LMI-tract investor, a sub-700 FICO borrower, or a $100,000-ticket urban condo investor, Quontic is the structural choice.

9. How NASB compares to Visio Lending

Visio Lending is the #1 non-bank DSCR lender by 2024 Scotsman Guide submitted volume ($854.6M). The comparison clarifies the structural choice between an FDIC-insured portfolio thrift (NASB) and a securitization-funded non-bank scale lender (Visio).

DimensionNASBVisio Lending
CharterFDIC-insured federal savings bankNon-bank lender
FDIC insurance on deposits**Yes (Cert #29708)**No — non-bank lender
DSCR floor1.10x-1.20x**1.0x** (case-by-case sub-1.0)
Min FICO**700****680**
Max LTV (purchase)approx. 80%up to 80%
Max LTV (cash-out)70% (requires 740 FICO)Higher cash-out flexibility
Min loan**$175,000**Lower
Max loanNot published, bank-concentration capped**$2M+**
Prepayment penalty**None**Step-down structures common
Holds vs securitizes**Holds — portfolio****Securitizes** — Beach Point Trust shelf, approx. $2B / 11 deals
Speed to close30-45 days typical21-30 days
Rate transparency**Low** — LO call required**Higher** — published rate sheets
Servicing**In-house**Sub-serviced
Eligible geographiesAll states EXCEPT NY / Chicago / Baltimore metrosAll states + DC
2024 Scotsman Guide submitted volumeNot disclosed / not on public list**$854.6M — #1**
Regulatory record1927-founded, OCC-supervised, no open ordersState-licensed non-bank, no federal prudential supervision

Choose NASB over Visio if: you want FDIC depository regulation, federal OCC prudential supervision, in-house servicing through the life of the loan, no prepayment penalty, and you have 700+ FICO + $175K+ loan size outside the excluded geographies.

Choose Visio over NASB if: you want a sub-1.0 DSCR case-by-case underwrite, lower FICO threshold, faster closing, published rate sheets for comparison shopping, NY / Chicago / Baltimore property eligibility, or scale into multi-property portfolios where the securitization shelf supports it.

The structural choice is the same as Quontic-vs-Visio: regulated depository portfolio retention vs non-bank securitization-funded scale. NASB is the bigger, better-capitalized, less-encumbered version of that "regulated thrift" choice.

10. How NASB compares to Velocity Financial

Velocity Financial (NYSE:VEL) is the securitization-funded non-bank specialist with 46 deals and $10.6B lifetime issuance through year-end 2025. The comparison clarifies what NASB gives up by NOT being a securitization issuer.

DimensionNASBVelocity Financial (NYSE:VEL)
CharterFDIC-insured federal savings bankNon-bank lender + REIT
Public listingOTCQX:NASBNYSE:VEL
SecuritizationNo shelf46 deals / $10.6B lifetime
ServicingIn-houseRetained on portion, sold on portion
Foreign nationalsNo program65% LTV foreign-investor cap
Geographic reachNOT NY / Chicago / BaltimoreAll states
Balance sheet modelPortfolio thriftREIT + securitization shelf
Rate sensitivity to non-QM ABS marketLow — driven by deposit costHigh — driven by securitization spreads

The structural takeaway: a NASB DSCR loan is rate-stable through ABS-market dislocations. A Velocity Financial DSCR loan is more competitively priced when the non-QM ABS market is bid, more expensive when it is offered. For a long-hold investor, NASB's deposit-funded portfolio model is the steadier pricing source.

11. Top forensic findings — what aggregators get wrong about NASB

  1. "NASDAQ:NASB" is wrong. NASB Financial delisted from Nasdaq in 2014 and trades on OTCQX under symbol NASB. Aggregator content still using "NASDAQ:NASB" is a tell that the review was not updated post-2014.
  2. "50-state DSCR" is wrong. NASB explicitly excludes New York state, Chicago metro, and Baltimore metro from DSCR eligibility. Aggregators describing NASB as a nationwide / 50-state lender are wrong.
  3. "NASB has open enforcement actions" is wrong. The 2010 OTS Formal Agreement and the May 22, 2012 OCC Consent Order were publicly terminated by the OCC in March 2014. OpenSanctions and other databases preserve historical start dates but do not always update termination status. As of May 2026, NASB has zero open prudential enforcement orders — meaningfully cleaner than Quontic Bank's three open orders.
  4. "NASB takes 660 FICO" is wrong for the DSCR program. The DSCR product pages and FAQ are explicit: 700 is the floor for standard cases, and 740 is required for the maximum 70% cash-out LTV tier. The 660 figure that floats around some listicles applies to NASB's FHA business — a different product line entirely, irrelevant for an investor-DSCR comparison.
  5. "NASB is a small Missouri thrift" undersells the scale. NASB is a $2.97 billion total-asset, $436.6M-equity, 14.7%-equity-to-assets, $28.7M-FY25-net-income federal savings bank. That is larger and better-capitalized than Quontic Bank on every balance-sheet dimension. NASB is also the OTCQX-listed parent of a 1927-founded continuously operating Missouri thrift — not a recent acquisition like Quontic (formed in 2009 from the acquisition of Golden First Bank).

12. Risk factors a borrower should price

Five non-obvious risks worth honest disclosure:

  1. Family-controlled OTCQX-listed thrift. The Hancock family (Chairman David H. Hancock; wife on the board since 1995; son Patrick appointed via explicit succession planning) controls a closely held thrift holding company on the OTCQX. Governance is family-led rather than institutional-investor-driven. This cuts both ways — long-tenured family franchise focus vs minority-shareholder governance concerns.
  2. Geographic exclusions (NY / Chicago metro / Baltimore metro) materially limit usefulness for investors in those markets. A borrower with a Brooklyn brownstone purchase cannot use NASB DSCR financing.
  3. Cash-out LTV is restrictive. 70% cash-out requires 740 FICO; everything else caps at 60%. For a refinance-cash-out-into-the-next-deal investor strategy, this is materially tighter than Visio Lending's cash-out flexibility.
  4. No foreign-national DSCR program. Foreign-national investors should go to Quontic Bank (80% LTV foreign national program) or Velocity Financial.
  5. 2010 OTS / 2012 OCC enforcement cycle is closed, but it was real. The OTS examination of January 11, 2010 found unsafe or unsound banking practices. The 2012 OCC C&D imposed minimum 10% Tier 1 / 13% total risk-based capital ratios — meaningful constraints. NASB recapitalized to 16.8% / 24% by Dec 31 2013 and was released in March 2014, but a borrower considering a 30-year amortization decision deserves to know the pre-2014 history honestly.

Pros

  • FDIC-insured federally chartered savings bank (FDIC Cert #29708, OCC Charter #703927). One of only two FDIC-insured DSCR lenders in the real-estate-crowdfunding affiliate universe.
  • 1927-founded — nearly century-long franchise. Recovered cleanly from the 2010-2014 enforcement cycle.
  • No open regulatory enforcement orders as of May 2026. Both the 2010 OTS Formal Agreement and the 2012 OCC Consent Order were publicly terminated.
  • $2.97 billion total assets, $436.6 million equity (14.7% equity-to-assets) — meaningfully larger and better-capitalized than Quontic Bank.
  • Permanent CEO (Enrique Venegas since October 1, 2024) — no governance gap.
  • No prepayment penalty on the DSCR product — explicitly disclosed. Materially borrower-friendly versus the step-down structures common at non-bank DSCR peers.
  • Portfolio retention + in-house servicing — no mid-loan servicing transfers, rate stability not tied to securitization windows.
  • BBB Accredited since 2008, A+ rating, 10 complaints closed in 3 years — meaningfully cleaner than the average non-bank DSCR lender, and Quontic Bank is not BBB Accredited at all.
  • No complaints reported to the CFPB in the most recent reporting period (per The Mortgage Reports).
  • Bauer Financial 5-Star safety-and-soundness rating.
  • Most recent OCC CRA Performance Evaluation is August 17, 2020 — "Satisfactory" overall with High Satisfactory on Lending. A current public CRA assessment is more transparent than Quontic Bank's stale December 2018 PE.
  • Non-QM is approx. 90% of the portfolio — the bank is genuinely specialized in non-QM, not a general-purpose retail bank with a side product. April 7, 2026 launch of "Profile Mortgage Solutions by NASB" DBA signals continued strategic commitment.

Cons

  • Geographic exclusions — DSCR not available in New York state, Chicago metropolitan area, or Baltimore metropolitan area. NASB is NOT a 50-state lender despite some aggregator claims.
  • $175,000 minimum loan amount is high for small-ticket urban condo investors. Quontic Bank has a smaller practical minimum.
  • 700 FICO floor is tighter than Quontic Bank (680) and Visio Lending / Kiavi (660-680). 740 FICO required for 70% cash-out — the 60% otherwise is restrictive for cash-out-into-next-deal investor strategies.
  • No foreign-national DSCR program. Foreign nationals should go to Quontic Bank or Velocity Financial.
  • No published rate sheet — must contact a loan officer to compare against published sheets at Visio Lending or Kiavi.
  • Family-controlled OTCQX issuer (Hancock family Chairman + non-independent directors + announced succession). Governance is closely held rather than institutional-investor-driven.
  • Not a NASDAQ-listed issuer despite older aggregator content — NASB Financial delisted from Nasdaq in 2014. OTCQX listing means less analyst coverage and lower trading liquidity.
  • 2010 OTS Formal Agreement and 2012 OCC Consent Order are closed, but were real prudential findings — readers underwriting a 30-year decision deserve the honest history.
  • No CDFI designation, no LMI-tract underwriting tailwind — Section 8 / Qualified Census Tract investors get more institutional support at Quontic Bank.
  • Slower closing (30-45 days typical) versus Kiavi's AI underwriting under 21 days.
  • Not a securitization sponsor — practical max loan size constraints from thrift-charter loan-concentration rules. High-volume single-loan-size investors ($3M+) need a non-bank securitization-funded peer.

13. Who NASB is the right fit for

Apply to NASB if you are:

  • A credit-strong investor (700+ FICO) with a loan size $175,000 or higher, financing a property outside New York state, Chicago metro, and Baltimore metro.
  • A borrower who values FDIC depository regulation, OCC prudential supervision, and a fully closed enforcement history more than the LMI-tract or foreign-national specialization of Quontic Bank.
  • An investor who wants no prepayment penalty — a real differentiator versus the step-down structures at non-bank DSCR peers.
  • A long-hold buy-and-hold investor who values in-house servicing and rate stability uncorrelated to non-QM ABS market spreads.
  • A borrower comfortable with a 30-45 day closing rather than needing Kiavi-speed AI underwriting.
  • A borrower who wants to deal with a 1927-founded, $2.97B-asset, 14.7%-equity-to-assets, BBB A+ Accredited federal savings bank with a Bauer Financial 5-Star rating and zero open regulatory orders.

Look elsewhere if you are:

  • A borrower in New York, Chicago metro, or Baltimore metro — NASB excludes these geographies.
  • A foreign national — go to Quontic Bank (80% LTV) or Velocity Financial (65% LTV).
  • A sub-700 FICO borrower — Quontic Bank (680), Kiavi (660-680), or Visio Lending (680) are more flexible.
  • A first-time investor wanting cultural / underwriting first-timer friendliness — Quontic Bank is the structural choice.
  • A Section 8, workforce housing, or LMI Qualified Census Tract investor — Quontic's CDFI designation creates an underwriting tailwind that NASB cannot match.
  • A $3M+ single-loan-size investor — go to Velocity Financial (NYSE:VEL), Angel Oak Mortgage REIT (NYSE:AOMR), or Kiavi.
  • A sub-$175K loan amount investor — NASB's minimum is too high outside the Kansas City exception zone.
  • A cash-out-into-next-deal investor needing more than 60% cash-out LTV without a 740 FICO — Visio Lending's cash-out flexibility is materially better.
  • A rate-shopper who wants to compare published rate sheets — NASB does not publish rates publicly.

14. FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Verdict

NASB is the cleaner of the two FDIC-insured DSCR lenders on most structural dimensions that matter. The bank is a 1927-founded Missouri thrift with $2.97 billion total assets, 14.7% equity-to-assets, zero open regulatory enforcement orders, a permanent CEO (Enrique Venegas, since October 1, 2024), a current 2020 OCC CRA "Satisfactory" rating, a BBB A+ Accredited record since 2008, a Bauer Financial 5-Star safety-and-soundness rating, no recent CFPB consumer complaints, no active consumer class actions, no prepayment penalty on the DSCR product, and portfolio-retention plus in-house servicing through the life of the loan. The 2010-2014 enforcement cycle was real (OTS Formal Agreement April 2010, OCC Consent Order May 2012, both requiring elevated capital ratios and a written strategic plan) and is fully closed as of March 2014. The pricing for that structural safety is real too: NASB will not lend in New York state, the Chicago metropolitan area, or the Baltimore metropolitan area; the FICO floor is 700 (740 for the 70% cash-out tier); the minimum loan is $175,000; foreign nationals have no program; rates are not published; and bank-charter exposure-concentration rules limit the practical per-borrower loan size below what Angel Oak and Kiavi can write.

For a credit-strong investor with a $175K+ loan size in any state outside NY / Chicago / Baltimore who values FDIC depository regulation, OCC prudential supervision, in-house servicing, no prepayment penalty, and a recovered-and-clean regulatory record, NASB is structurally the cleanest FDIC-insured DSCR loan in the U.S. market. We rate it 3.8 / 5 — a half-point higher than our 3.6 / 5 rating on Quontic Bank, driven by the better capitalization, the cleaner regulatory record (zero open orders vs three), the permanent CEO, and the more recent CRA Performance Evaluation. The half-point we hold back reflects the geographic exclusions, the absence of a foreign-national program, the 740 FICO requirement for the maximum cash-out tier, the lack of published rates, the closely held Hancock-family governance, and the genuine but closed 2010-2014 enforcement history that any honest reviewer should disclose.

No affiliate relationship. No compensation if you fund a loan. This is a forensic review written for the credit-strong DSCR investor weighing two FDIC-insured options against five-to-seven non-bank peers.

Sources

Primary — institutional / regulatory:

Primary — corporate / financial:

Primary — product:

Secondary — reviews / context:

Related on CrowdfundedWealth:

Keep reading.

Related
The weekly read

One platform, dissected, every Tuesday.