CrowdfundedWealth
Reviews · Platform teardown

Highlands REIT Review 2026: Ten Years, No Distributions, a $0.29 NAV and One Detention-Center Lease Worth 38% of Its Rent

By Jorge··17 min read
Affiliate Disclosure: Some links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our ratings. Learn more.

Quick Answer

Highlands REIT (SEC CIK 1661458) is the non-traded, self-advised REIT that InvenTrust spun off on April 28, 2016, one share for every InvenTrust share, holding the properties InvenTrust did not want. It scores 1.4 out of 5. In ten years its estimated value went from $0.36 to $0.29 a share (as of March 31, 2026), and it has never paid a distribution: "Highlands has not historically paid distributions," its own September 2026 offer document says. The only broad cash return was a 2023 Dutch-auction tender that bought 169.4 million shares at $0.14. Over the same ten annual reports it spent about $127.5 million on general and administrative expense. It could not reach a quorum at any annual meeting from 2023 to 2026, so the same three directors hold over. What changes the story is one building: a Colorado correctional facility that GEO Group leased until January 2020 (26.7% of 2019 revenue), that Highlands wrote down in full in 2020, and that it leased back to GEO in July 2026 at up to $11.5 million a year, equal to 38% of the whole portfolio's rent roll. The company is offering to buy up to 125 million shares at $0.20 until September 29; the full terms are in our article on the tender and the lease. Figures from Highlands' SEC filings, compiled by CrowdfundedWealth on September 12, 2026.

Key Takeaways

  • Value: $0.36 at the April 2016 spin-off, $0.29 as of March 31, 2026 (valued by Real Globe Advisors), a 19.4% decline. No value was published in December 2025 while the company evaluated a transaction on one asset.
  • Income to holders: none. No cash distribution in any year since the spin-off, per every 10-K and the 2026 offer document.
  • Cash back to holders: a December 2023 Dutch auction bought 169,393,767 shares at $0.14 ($25.2 million with costs). In April 2025 the company bought 6,697,993 shares from its retiring CEO at $0.28, the same month an outside mini-tender offered other holders $0.04.
  • Cost of running it: about $127.5 million of G&A across the ten annual reports; $14.2 million in 2025, 38% of revenue.
  • What it owns: 13 apartment properties (most in Denver), three retail centers, one office, the Hudson, Colorado correctional facility and one land parcel; 74.0% economically occupied at year-end, 72.3% at June 30, 2026.
  • The Hudson facility: GEO's lease produced 26.7% of 2019 revenue and ended in January 2020; the asset was written down in full in 2020. GEO signed a new 88-month lease in July 2026 at up to $11.5 million a year, 38% of the portfolio's $29.8 million annualized rent.
  • Governance: no quorum at the 2023, 2024, 2025 or 2026 annual meetings, holdover directors, and no separate nominating committee. CEO pay in 2025: $4.27 million.

CSV · 44 rows

Highlands REIT, 2016-2026: estimated value per share, G&A, buybacks, tenders, occupancy and annual-meeting turnout

Every estimated value per share since the 2016 spin-off, ten years of G&A, the 2023 and 2026 tenders, the 2025 CEO buyback, mini-tender prices, occupancy and quorum counts, one accession per row.

Our Rating
1.4/5
Returns to Shareholders0.5

No distribution in any year since the April 2016 spin-off. Estimated value $0.36 → $0.29. The only broad cash return was the 2023 tender at $0.14

Liquidity1.5

No exchange listing and no repurchase program; exits are company tenders ($0.14 in 2023, $0.20 now, below the $0.29 value) and outside mini-tenders at $0.04

Portfolio2

Aging leftovers plus apartments bought since 2017; 72.3% economic occupancy at June 30, 2026 and Denver rents under pressure. The Hudson lease is a large, new and contract-dependent source of rent

Cost Discipline1

About $127.5M of G&A over ten annual reports against zero distributions; 2025 G&A was 38% of revenue; CEO pay $4.27M in 2025

Governance1

No quorum at four straight annual meetings (2023-2026); directors continue as holdovers; no separate nominating committee; a 2025 buyback from the retiring CEO at $0.28

Transparency3

Full SEC reporting and an annual third-party valuation, but the December 2025 value was skipped and the tender documents describe the Hudson rent trigger only as an 'unrelated third party'

Affiliate Program0

None. We earn nothing from Highlands

Ten years in one line: $0.36 to $0.29, and nothing paid in between

Most REIT reviews start with the yield. Highlands does not have one. The company's own description of its job is to sell what it inherited and, eventually, give the money back: "Our strategy is focused on preserving, protecting and maximizing the total value of our portfolio with the long-term objective of providing stockholders with a return of their investment." It adds, in every recent 10-K, that "a definitive timeline for execution of our strategy cannot be made."

Here is what ten years of that strategy looks like per share:

Estimated value as ofPer shareFiling
April 28, 2016 (spin-off)$0.3610-K for 2016
December 31, 2016$0.358-K, January 2017
December 31, 2017$0.338-K, January 2018
December 31, 2018$0.358-K, January 2019
December 31, 2019$0.368-K, January 2020
December 31, 2020$0.288-K, January 2021
December 15, 2021$0.298-K, December 2021
December 15, 2022$0.288-K, December 2022
December 15, 2023$0.328-K, December 2023
December 15, 2024$0.318-K, December 2024
December 2025not published8-K, December 16, 2025
March 31, 2026$0.298-K, May 12, 2026

The December 2025 gap is the only year without a value, and the reason given is specific: the company "continues to evaluate a potential transaction involving one of the Company's assets." Seven months later it signed the Hudson lease. For the $0.29, set in May, the 10-Q says the board went "below the midpoint of the range" and cited, among other things, difficulties transacting on its assets and conditions in its Denver apartment market. The chief executive put the Denver part plainly on May 22: "This decrease was driven primarily by softness in the Denver multifamily market, resulting from a significant wave of new supply and declining net migration into the Denver metro area."

What holders have actually received

Distributions: zero. The 10-K for 2025: "During the years ended December 31, 2025 and 2024, Highlands did not make any cash distributions." Every earlier 10-K says the same for its own years, and the September 2026 offer to purchase sums it up in five words.

Buybacks: one that reached everyone, one that did not.

WhenWhatPriceShares
December 2023Modified Dutch-auction tender open to all holders; $25.2M including costs$0.14169,393,767
April 2025Private repurchase from the retiring CEO under his separation agreement$0.286,697,993
April 2025Outside mini-tender by MacKenzie to all other holders (not filed with the SEC)$0.04not disclosed
May 2026Another MacKenzie mini-tender$0.04not disclosed
September 1-29, 2026Company self-tender, fixed price$0.20up to 125,000,000

The second row deserves a sentence of its own. When Highlands' former chief executive retired, the company bought 6.7 million of his shares at $0.28, close to the estimated value, and gave him the right to make it buy the rest "on or after December 31, 2029, and on or before March 31, 2030." In the same month, the only offer on the table for everyone else was MacKenzie's $0.04. Both are disclosed; neither is improper. They are simply two very different exits from the same stock.

What it owns now

At June 30, 2026 the portfolio was "thirteen multi-family, three retail and one office property, one correctional facility and one parcel of unimproved land." Most of the apartments are in Denver, and that is where the pressure is: "market conditions affecting the Company's Denver multifamily portfolio have required us to offer reduced rents and additional concessions." Economic occupancy was 74.0% at year-end and 72.3% at June 30.

Asset or groupWhat the filings sayWhy it matters
Denver apartmentsReduced rents and concessions; the reason the value fell to $0.29The largest block of the portfolio, under supply pressure
Sherman Plaza, Evanston IL (retail)91.7% occupied at year-end; new $25.0M loan in April 2026, swapped to 5.90%Largely leased; the new loan added debt
Buckhorn Plaza, Bloomsburg PA (retail)$8.9M mortgage at year-end; 'The Company intends to sell this investment property prior to this upcoming maturity date.'A sale is planned before the loan comes due in 2026
Market at Hilliard, OH (retail)$13.7M mortgage at year-end; 'The Company expects to refinance this mortgage loan prior to this upcoming maturity date.'A 2026 refinancing to watch
Trimble, San Jose CA (office/R&D)$20.0M loan at year-endThe portfolio's only office property
Hudson, CO correctional facilityVacant from January 2020; new GEO lease from August 2026See below

The only property sale since the start of 2024 was the Versacold industrial pair in Minnesota ($7.2 million and $13.3 million); the 10-K states "There were no investment property dispositions during the year ended December 31, 2025."

The building that now decides the next ten years

The Hudson facility is not new to Highlands, and neither is its tenant. The 10-K for 2019 said "approximately 26.7% of our revenues were derived from a net lease with The GEO Group, Inc." on that building, and that "The lease with GEO on this property expired in January of 2020 and GEO has vacated the facility." The company had already booked a $3.8 million impairment in 2018 when non-renewal was contemplated. In the 10-K for 2020: "We recorded a full impairment of the asset of $16,804 during the fourth quarter of 2020," and "We expect the asset to remain vacant for years to come."

It stayed empty for six years. Then, on July 9, 2026, GEO came back: an 88-month lease at up to $958,333.33 a month, about $11.5 million a year. Against the whole portfolio's annualized base rent of $29.8 million at year-end, that is 38% of Highlands' rent roll from one building (our calculation). The lease also carries the clause that decides its value: rent drops to $250,000 a year if GEO's contract with an unnamed third party ends, which the Colorado press identified as a five-year ICE detention contract. We covered the clause and the contract in detail in our article on the tender and the Hudson lease. Two things matter for a holder here: the $0.29 value was set before this lease existed, and the building that now carries the company was written off five years ago.

What it costs to run a company that is winding down

YearGeneral and administrative ($M)
2016 (includes pre-spin months)14.2
201710.9
201812.6
201912.9
202014.1
202112.7
202211.7
202312.5
202411.7
202514.2
Total (our sum)127.5

In 2025 the company earned $37.4 million of revenue, spent $14.2 million on G&A, 38% of it, and lost $11.1 million. Its chief executive's total 2025 compensation was $4.27 million. None of this is unusual for a small self-managed REIT with full SEC reporting. What makes it stand out is the column next to it: across the same ten years, distributions were zero.

Who is minding it

A REIT whose holders own a few cents' worth of stock each does not get a quorum. Highlands has now failed four years running:

Annual meetingShares representedShares entitled to voteResult
2023340,983,721888,242,728No quorum
2024237,568,882721,670,944No quorum
2025228,994,326724,321,419No quorum
2026 (May 22)219,744,634722,202,902No quorum; not reconvened

Under Maryland law the directors continue as holdovers. The 2026 proxy adds that "Our board of directors does not have a separately designated nominating committee." It is the same mechanism we documented across six non-traded REITs that could not reach a quorum in 2026: a board that cannot be re-elected is also a board that cannot be replaced.

The decision in front of you in September

If you hold Highlands, the question is the tender. Three numbers frame it: the $0.29 estimated value, struck before the Hudson lease; the $0.20 the company is offering for up to 125 million shares until September 29; and the $0.04 outside bids that have been the only other exit for years. The detailed arithmetic is in the tender article. What this review adds is the history behind it: a company that has returned cash to all holders once in ten years, at $0.14, and whose value for the next decade now rests on one lease with one tenant and one government contract.

That is a decision about your specific shares, your basis from the 2016 spin-off and what you believe about the Hudson contract. It is also exactly the kind of decision a Forensic Filing Read is built for: one vehicle, your position, the filings read line by line before you tender or hold.

Pros

  • A new, large source of rent — the GEO lease at up to $11.5 million a year equals 38% of the portfolio's year-end rent roll, from a building carried after a full write-down
  • Cash on hand for the tender — the company funds the $0.20 offer from cash, and shares bought below the $0.29 value are accretive to those who stay
  • Full SEC reporting and an annual third-party valuation since 2016, with the December 2025 gap explained
  • Some property wins — Sherman Plaza re-leased to 91.7%

Cons

  • No distribution in any year since 2016
  • Estimated value down from $0.36 to $0.29 over ten years
  • About $127.5M of G&A across ten annual reports, 38% of revenue in 2025
  • Occupancy falling — 72.3% at June 30, 2026; Denver apartments on concessions
  • Four straight annual meetings without a quorum, holdover directors and no separate nominating committee
  • The Hudson rent depends on a contract Highlands is not party to, with a step-down to $250,000 a year if it ends
  • Exits below value — $0.14 in 2023, $0.20 now, $0.04 from outside bidders; a 2025 buyback from the retiring CEO at $0.28

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Verdict

Highlands REIT earns 1.4 out of 5. As a record, the ten years are hard to defend: a value that drifted from $0.36 to $0.29, no distribution in any year, one broad buyback at $0.14, $127.5 million of overhead and four meetings nobody attended. As a situation, it has just changed. A building the company wrote off in 2020 now carries a lease worth 38% of its rent roll, and the value everyone quotes was set before that lease existed. Whether that makes $0.20 too little or the right price to take depends on how much you trust one tenant's government contract to last, which is a question the filings frame but cannot answer for you.

Sources

SEC EDGAR, Highlands REIT, Inc., CIK 1661458:

  • Form 10-K for 2025, filed March 11, 2026, accession 0001661458-26-000004: strategy, distributions, portfolio, occupancy, rent roll, results, dispositions
  • Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, filed August 11, 2026, accession 0001661458-26-000025: portfolio, occupancy, Denver concessions, loan maturities, the $0.29 valuation
  • Forms 8-K announcing estimated values: 0001661458-17-000003, -18-000003, -19-000004, -20-000005, -21-000003, -21-000047, -22-000024, -23-000034, -24-000021, -26-000014; December 2025 skip, 0001661458-25-000033; CEO remarks, 0001661458-26-000019
  • Forms 10-K for 2016 (0001661458-17-000013), 2019 (0001661458-20-000008), 2020 (0001661458-21-000015) and 2023 (0001661458-24-000004), and the G&A lines of every 10-K from 2016 to 2025
  • Schedule TO-I/A of December 8, 2023, accession 0001104659-23-124544: the 2023 tender result
  • Form 8-K of April 29, 2025, accession 0001661458-25-000014: the former CEO's separation agreement and share repurchase
  • Forms 8-K on MacKenzie mini-tenders: 0001661458-24-000015, 0001661458-25-000012, 0001661458-26-000016
  • Forms 8-K on the annual meetings: 0001661458-23-000022, 0001661458-24-000013, 0001661458-25-000021, 0001661458-26-000021
  • Schedule 14A (proxy) filed March 31, 2026, accession 0001661458-26-000008: board, committees, compensation
  • Schedule TO-I and offer to purchase of September 1, 2026, accession 0001104659-26-104051

Retrieved September 12, 2026.

Keep reading.

Related
The weekly read

One platform, dissected, every Tuesday.