CrowdfundedWealth
Reviews · Research note

Lightstone DIRECT vs EquityMultiple (2026): The $100K Decision for Accredited Investors

By Jorge··Updated August 28, 2026·19 min read
Affiliate Disclosure: Some links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our ratings. Learn more.

Quick Answer

For a $100,000 accredited check in April 2026, EquityMultiple wins on diversification, liquidity, and fee transparency — but Lightstone DIRECT wins on sponsor alignment (20% GP co-invest is real and verified) and avoids EquityMultiple's BBB B- (September 2026) operational drag. The honest answer for most $100K investors: split it. EquityMultiple is the better platform for capital you want spread across multiple sponsors and risk tiers (Alpine Notes, Ascent Fund, equity deals); Lightstone DIRECT is reasonable for a single concentrated allocation if you can stomach the 4-year lockup, the single-sponsor concentration, and the ongoing Lightstone Value Plus REIT class action against the same parent. Lightstone DIRECT's headline 27.6% IRR is parent-firm realized history since 2004, not a Lightstone DIRECT track record (the platform launched November 2025 — six months ago).

CSV · 15 rows

The data table in this article, as CSV

The 15-row table from this article as CSV: Feature, Lightstone DIRECT, EquityMultiple. Sources are listed in the article.

If you have $100,000 of accredited capital and you're choosing between Lightstone DIRECT and EquityMultiple, you've narrowed correctly to the two most credible "premium" private real estate platforms targeting six-figure investors. They are not interchangeable. They serve different investor archetypes, and the choice between them comes down to a tradeoff almost no other comparison article frames honestly.

I'm going to frame it honestly. This is not a sponsored comparison.

Quick Comparison

FeatureLightstone DIRECTEquityMultiple
LaunchedNovember 10, 20252015
Minimum investment$100,000$5,000 (Alpine Notes); $10,000-$30,000 (Direct/Fund)
Accredited onlyYes (Reg D 506(c))Yes (Reg D 506(c))
Active offerings (Apr 2026)2 (Hidden Lakes, Abernathy Industrial Park)Multiple deals + Ascent Income Fund + Alpine Notes program
GP co-invest20%+ per deal (verified)Variable per deal; first-loss tranche on Alpine Notes only
Sponsor diversificationSingle-sponsor (every deal = Lightstone)Multi-sponsor (curated third-party operators + EM-managed funds)
Headline track record27.6% net IRR / 2.54x EM since 2004 (parent firm, realized only)17% net realized IRR (2019-2022 vintages)
Liquid productNone. Hold varies per deal: 4yr on the first two, 10yr on OKC Outlets (Aug 2026)Alpine Notes 3-9 month terms; 30-day rollover redemption
Tax formsK-1 expectedK-1 (equity) or 1099 (debt/preferred)
Fees disclosed publiclyNet returns implied; line-item not disclosed4% origination + 1% annual servicing
BBB ratingNot rated under DIRECT nameB- (one unresponded complaint, Sept 2026)
TrustpilotNot rated under DIRECT name1.6/5 (32 reviews, Sept 2026)
Active litigation against sponsorYes — Lightstone Value Plus REIT class action (Nov 2024 NJ Federal)None identified
Public-company investorNoMarcus & Millichap (NYSE: MMI) since Dec 2023
Best forSingle concentrated $100K+ accredited allocation with sponsor alignmentDiversified accredited menu across yield, debt, and equity tiers

Lightstone DIRECT: What It Actually Is

Lightstone DIRECT is the direct-to-investor channel of The Lightstone Group LLC, the New Jersey-based privately held real estate firm controlled and majority-owned by David Lichtenstein. The Lightstone Group is real and substantial: founded 1988, ~$12 billion in AUM across 25,000+ multifamily units and 15+ million square feet of industrial space, and 139+ properties across 26 states.

The DIRECT platform launched November 10, 2025 to make Lightstone Group's institutional-grade deals available to high-net-worth accredited investors at smaller check sizes than the firm's traditional institutional funds. It is six months old.

Active offerings as of April 30, 2026

Two specific named deals are publicly documented (the platform's own press releases as of April 15, 2026 confirm a "first close" on the platform's first round):

  1. Abernathy Industrial Park — Greenville-Spartanburg corridor, South Carolina. Six-building, 610,000 square foot industrial park. 100% leased at acquisition. Target net IRR: 15.2%. Target net cash-on-cash: 7.7%. Hold period: 4 years. Lightstone disclosed it has invested 20%+ of the equity in Abernathy.

  2. Hidden Lakes Apartments — Grand Rapids, Michigan. 384-unit multifamily, 91.9% occupied at acquisition, light value-add business plan. Target net cash-on-cash: 7.4% (target net IRR not publicly disclosed). Hold period: 4 years. Lightstone is investing 20%+ of the equity.

Both target return statements are stated as net — meaning fees are baked into the projection rather than disclosed line-item. Most premium private real estate platforms disclose layered fees (acquisition fee, asset management fee, disposition fee, performance promote). Lightstone DIRECT does not, and that's a transparency weakness even if the net targets are honestly stated.

The 20% GP co-invest is real and verified

The headline differentiator. Industry standard sponsor co-investment in private real estate is approximately 5%. Lightstone DIRECT commits to 20%+ per deal — meaning Lichtenstein and the Lightstone partners are putting their own money in at four times the industry norm.

This is alignment. When the sponsor puts up $20M alongside your $80M, the sponsor's downside is real. Compare this to platforms where the sponsor takes promote on the upside and bears almost no first-dollar loss exposure on the downside.

The 27.6% IRR claim — read the fine print

Lightstone DIRECT's marketing prominently features "27.6% net IRR / 2.54x equity multiple on realized investments since 2004."

The number is sourced from Lightstone Group's institutional book — the parent firm's track record on deals it sponsored from 2004 forward. This is not a Lightstone DIRECT-platform-specific track record. The DIRECT platform is six months old; no DIRECT deal has reached realization yet.

What the 27.6% number includes:

  • All Lightstone-sponsored deals (institutional and otherwise) that achieved an exit since 2004
  • Net of fees, gross of taxes
  • Realized only

What it doesn't include:

  • Deals still being held (unrealized markdowns or write-offs)
  • Deals where Lightstone wrote off a position quietly without an "exit"
  • Any survivorship bias where underperforming deals are held longer than realized winners

This is not unique to Lightstone — most institutional real estate sponsors quote realized-only IRRs the same way. But it does mean a $100K investor in 2026 cannot literally underwrite their personal expected return at 27.6% based on this disclosure.

The Lichtenstein history: where it gets uncomfortable

David Lichtenstein has a substantive 35+ year track record in real estate. He also has two specific risk factors a $100K investor should know about before committing.

1. Extended Stay Hotels bankruptcy (2009). In 2007, Lichtenstein bought Extended Stay America from Blackstone for $8.0 billion in a deal financed with $7 billion of debt. The hotel chain filed for Chapter 11 in June 2009 — the largest hotel-industry bankruptcy of the financial crisis. The court-appointed examiner specifically blamed the leveraged Lightstone acquisition for the failure, noting the new owner "had no experience operating any hotel chain or an entity of this size." Creditors sued Lightstone and Blackstone for $8 billion alleging the sales price was inflated and the company was rendered insolvent. Lichtenstein faced a personal $100M guarantee call from lenders.

This is 17 years old. It is not a current operational risk. It does indicate willingness to deploy extreme leverage in transactions, which is relevant context for any sponsor.

2. Lightstone Value Plus REIT class action — filed November 2024, ongoing. The class action AYER et al v. LIGHTSTONE VALUE PLUS REIT I, INC. et al (Case No. 3:2024cv10371, U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey) alleges that Lightstone misled REIT shareholders into approving 2022/2023 charter amendments that eliminated durational provisions requiring liquidation by years 8 or 10 post-offering — blocking exit. The plaintiffs allege the amendments served Lichtenstein's personal interest by preserving his subordinated equity stake "potentially worth $59.8 million or more, [which] would have been worthless if the Lightstone REITs had liquidated during 2024-25."

This case is being actively litigated. Bloomberg Law reported one motion-to-dismiss outcome in Lightstone's favor (the REITs "won reprieve"), but the litigation continues. Multiple plaintiffs' securities-law firms (Klayman Toskes, White Law Group, NY Securities Lawyer Blog) are publicly soliciting Lightstone Value Plus REIT investors for arbitration claims.

Important context: The Lightstone Value Plus REITs are non-traded REITs — a different product line from Lightstone DIRECT. But the parent sponsor, the controlling person, and the affiliated advisor structure are the same. The litigation is directly relevant to the question "should I trust this sponsor with $100,000?"

Disambiguation: Solomon Lichtenstein is not David Lichtenstein

If you Google "Lichtenstein SEC fraud" you will encounter an SEC enforcement action filed October 22, 2025 against Solomon Lichtenstein, age 30, of Stony Point, New York, charging him with running a $2.7M Ponzi scheme via two entities including one called "Lightstone Trading Inc." Solomon Lichtenstein pleaded guilty to securities fraud in March 2026; sentencing is scheduled for July 8, 2026.

Solomon Lichtenstein is unrelated to David Lichtenstein. They share a common surname. The "Lightstone Trading Inc." in the SEC case is unrelated to The Lightstone Group, Lightstone Capital, or Lightstone DIRECT. We're flagging this explicitly because the search results conflate the two and you'll see headlines that look terrifying until you read past them.

Still deciding?

Before you pick one, get the checklist that catches what neither pitch deck mentions.

The same 8-point SEC-filing checklist we run on every platform in this comparison — going-concern language, cash-burn, gated redemptions, appraisal-NAV gaps — as a free 1-page PDF. Subscribers also get the watchlist: the next platform showing these signs, before it makes the news.

EquityMultiple: What It Actually Is

EquityMultiple was founded in 2015 by Charles Clinton (former Simpson Thacher real estate lawyer) and Marious Sjulsen. The platform curates accredited-only commercial real estate deals across debt, preferred equity, and common equity tiers. As of April 2026 it reports 50,000+ investors and over $600M deployed across $5B+ of total project capitalization (some 2025 sources cite higher totals — definition of "AUM" varies by what you count).

The company received a strategic equity investment from Marcus & Millichap (NYSE: MMI) in December 2023 — a meaningful credibility marker, though the stake size is undisclosed. EquityMultiple also acquired the tokenized commercial real estate platform HoneyBricks in November 2025 (read our HoneyBricks review →) and now manages all legacy HoneyBricks investments.

The product menu

ProductMinYield/IRRTermTax form
Alpine Notes — 3 month$5,0006.0% APY90 days1099
Alpine Notes — 6 month$5,0007.0% APY180 days1099
Alpine Notes — 9 month$5,0007.35% APY270 days1099
Alpine Notes Basecamp (first-time)$5,0008.00% APY6 months1099
Traverse (first-time)Variable9% APYVariable1099
Ascent Income Fund$10,00011-13% target net (10.83% Q1 2024, 10.48% Q4 2024)1-year lockupK-1
Senior Debt deals$10,000+7-12% APR targetHold-period locked1099
Preferred Equity$10,000+7-12% current pref + low/mid-teens totalHold-period lockedK-1
Common Equity$30,000+Mid-teens IRR target5-7 yr holdK-1

The Alpine Notes program is meaningfully differentiated. It crossed $100M in cumulative subscriptions per EquityMultiple's own disclosures. Alpine Notes have $0 platform fees, EquityMultiple itself buys a "first-loss position" tranche of each note series (a soft credit-enhancement, not a guarantee), and there is a 30-day soft redemption window allowing rollover into another EquityMultiple offering without penalty.

It is also explicitly disclosed: Alpine Notes are NOT bank deposits, NOT FDIC-insured, NOT guaranteed by EquityMultiple, and CAN lose value. Treat them as senior unsecured corporate paper at the EM-affiliate level — closer to a private credit yield product than a bank CD.

The 17% IRR claim — read the fine print

EquityMultiple's headline track record number is "17% net realized IRR from 2019 through end of 2022."

The caveat: multiple platform reviews specifically note that EquityMultiple "can no longer publicly disclose long-term investor returns due to securities regulations." That means the 17% number is dated (it covers 2019-2022 vintages, not 2023-2025) and selectively realized only (it doesn't include unrealized markdowns or recent under-performers).

The Ascent Income Fund — EquityMultiple's flagship debt-focused fund — has more current and granular disclosure: 10.83% net distributed yield in Q1 2024, 10.48% net distributed yield in Q4 2024, 9% since-inception net distributed yield, with a target of 11-13% net annualized. Ascent crossed $25M in subscriptions mid-2024. This is real, reportable, and consistent with industry commercial-debt fund returns.

The damning facts

BBB Grade B-. As of September 13, 2026, the BBB gives failure to respond to one complaint as the reason for the B- rating. There is no active SEC enforcement, no class action, and no evidence of fraudulent or material misconduct.

Trustpilot 1.6/5 (32 reviews, as of September 13, 2026). Recurring complaint themes:

  • K-1 delivery delays. Multiple investors report not receiving K-1s until September of the following year. This is the most consistent operational complaint across multiple years.
  • Communication on troubled deals. Investors in equity deals that underperformed report insufficient updates on workouts.
  • Principal losses on certain equity deals. Specific deal-level losses are disclosed in some investor reports.

4% origination + 1% annual servicing fees on Direct/Fund deals. Per The Real Estate Crowdfunding Review, this layered fee stack works out to approximately 3% effective drag on net returns, vs. industry norm of 1.5-2%. Alpine Notes have $0 fees, but Direct deals carry the 4% + 1% structure.

These are operational and pricing concerns, not fraud. They are also durable — the K-1 delays have appeared in investor complaints for multiple years.

The Honest Tradeoff

The choice between Lightstone DIRECT and EquityMultiple comes down to four real tradeoffs:

Tradeoff #1: Sponsor alignment vs. sponsor diversification

Lightstone wins alignment — 20% GP co-invest is verifiably real and four times industry norm. Lichtenstein has personal capital in every DIRECT deal.

EquityMultiple wins diversification — your $100K can be split across 5-10 different sponsors, asset types, and risk tiers. If one Lightstone deal underperforms, your entire $100K is exposed. If one EM-curated deal underperforms, only the slice in that deal is exposed.

Which matters more depends on your view of single-sponsor concentration risk. Most institutional asset allocation orthodoxy says diversification > concentration, even at the cost of weaker per-deal alignment. If you believe Lichtenstein's track record makes him the exception that justifies concentration, Lightstone wins. If you don't, EM wins.

Tradeoff #2: Liquidity vs. lockup

Lightstone has zero liquidity. No secondary market, and the lock-up is per deal rather than platform-wide: the first two were 4-year holds, and the OKC Outlets retail deal open in August 2026 carries a 10-year estimate. Your $100K is locked for whichever applies.

EquityMultiple has Alpine Notes. $5,000 minimum, 90-270 day terms, 30-day rollover redemption. This is a meaningful liquidity option. If you need to park accredited capital in real estate yield without a multi-year lockup, EM has a product Lightstone simply doesn't offer.

Tradeoff #3: Reputation drag vs. unproven platform

Lightstone DIRECT has no BBB or Trustpilot drag because the platform is six months old. There hasn't been time for operational complaints to accumulate. There also hasn't been time for any DIRECT deal to reach realization or to test the platform's investor-communication discipline under stress.

EquityMultiple has a BBB B- and Trustpilot 1.6/5 (September 2026). These are real operational issues. They are also durable — the K-1 delays and communication complaints have appeared for multiple years. They are not fraud-level events; they are operational maturity issues at a 10-year-old platform.

The hidden tradeoff: EM's complaints exist because EM has a long enough track record to accumulate complaints. Lightstone DIRECT will inevitably accumulate its own as it ages — six months is not long enough to know whether DIRECT will be better, worse, or comparable on operational discipline.

Tradeoff #4: Active litigation against sponsor

Lightstone has the Lightstone Value Plus REIT class action. Same parent, same controlling person, same affiliated advisors. The case alleges Lichtenstein-controlled entities misled REIT shareholders to block liquidation in service of his $59.8M+ subordinated equity stake. The case is still being litigated as of April 2026. Multiple plaintiffs' law firms are soliciting investors. This is a current, material legal exposure adjacent to the Lightstone DIRECT platform.

EquityMultiple has none. No active class action, no SEC enforcement, no plaintiffs' law firms publicly soliciting investors. Operational complaints exist; legal exposure does not.

Verdict by Investor Scenario

If you have $100,000 and want a single concentrated position with maximum sponsor alignment: Lightstone DIRECT is reasonable. You get 20% GP co-invest, an institutional sponsor with 35+ years of real estate experience, and a defined target return. You accept four-year lockup, single-sponsor concentration, and the ongoing Lightstone Value Plus REIT litigation against the same parent.

If you have $100,000 and want it spread across multiple sponsors and risk tiers: EquityMultiple is the better platform. Suggested split for the $100K:

  • $25,000 into Alpine Notes (9-month, 7.35% APY) for liquid yield
  • $25,000 into Ascent Income Fund for diversified commercial debt
  • $50,000 split across 2-3 individual equity or preferred equity deals targeting mid-teens IRR

You accept a BBB B-, Trustpilot 1.6, the K-1 delays, and the 4%+1% fee drag on Direct deals. You get diversification, liquidity, and a proven (if imperfect) 10-year operating history.

If you have $200,000+: the honest answer is split it. EquityMultiple for the diversified core ($150K+), Lightstone DIRECT for one concentrated single-sponsor allocation ($50K+). This is what most rational accredited allocators with this much capital actually do — they don't pick one platform.

If you have $50,000 (below Lightstone DIRECT's minimum): EquityMultiple is the only platform between these two that you can use. Alpine Notes alone get you 7.35% APY at $5K minimum. You don't need the Lightstone deals.

If you specifically need 1099 (not K-1) tax treatment: EquityMultiple's Alpine Notes and senior debt deals issue 1099s. Lightstone DIRECT deals issue K-1s. This alone may decide the platform for investors who value tax simplicity.

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Sources

Primary sources:

Secondary references:

Internal links: EquityMultiple Review 2026 · EquityMultiple vs Fundrise 2026 · Lightstone DIRECT Review 2026 · Lightstone DIRECT vs Origin IncomePlus · HoneyBricks Review (acquired by EquityMultiple) · Best Real Estate Crowdfunding for Accredited Investors · First National Realty Partners Review

Keep reading.

Related
The weekly read

One platform, dissected, every Tuesday.