CityVest Capital SEC Order, October 2, 2026: $425,000 Borrowed From Three Access Funds
Some links pay us a referral fee; each one says so. Disclosure
Quick Answer
As of November 4, 2026: on October 2, 2026 the SEC instituted and settled an administrative proceeding (Advisers Act Release No. IA-7021, File No. 3-22769) against CityVest Capital Inc., CV Manager LLC and the firm's part-owner and sole operator. The order finds that between July 2019 and May 2025 they borrowed $425,000 from three of CityVest's access funds to meet CityVest's operating expenses, including payroll, and that the conflicts of interest were not fully and fairly disclosed to the funds or their investors. The loans were repaid in full, with the last interest paid by July 2, 2025. All three respondents were censured and ordered to stop violating Section 206(2) of the Advisers Act; CityVest and the individual must each pay a $10,000 penalty to the Treasury. They consented without admitting the findings. The order does not order any payment to investors. CityVest raised about $47 million across about 15 access funds; EDGAR holds 14 Form D notices from funds that name CV Manager LLC as manager, reporting $43,356,500 sold.
Key Takeaways
- The SEC found that CityVest Capital Inc., CV Manager LLC and the individual who solely runs CityVest willfully violated Section 206(2) of the Investment Advisers Act by taking undisclosed loans from funds they advised. The sanctions are a censure for all three, a cease-and-desist order, and a $10,000 penalty each for CityVest and the individual. No penalty was ordered against CV Manager. The order was entered on October 2, 2026 on consent, “without admitting the findings.”
- The $425,000 is not all loans. The order itemizes loans of $100,000, $150,000, $40,000, $30,000 and $30,000, which add to $350,000, plus a $75,000 investor check that was deposited into CityVest's own bank account and repaid later with no loan paper and no interest. Only with that $75,000 do the itemized amounts reach $425,000 (our arithmetic).
- The money came out of cash that was waiting to be invested. The first loan, $100,000 on July 10, 2019, was 14.3% of the roughly $700,000 then sitting in Access Fund 1 (our arithmetic), and went into a CityVest account that had a negative balance of $828.05. In October 2024 a $30,000 loan followed five days after a $103,000 distribution reached Access Fund 3.
- The investors were not told. The order says the access funds' documents “did not disclose that the access funds could make loans to CityVest,” while each operating agreement made the manager responsible for its own overhead and personnel expenses.
- On EDGAR we found 14 Form D filings by funds that name CV Manager LLC as their manager, filed from March 10, 2020 to August 18, 2023. They report $43,356,500 sold, with investor counts that add to 847 (our arithmetic; an investor in two funds counts twice). Each fund has exactly one filing, so none was ever amended.
- The order orders no disgorgement and no payment to investors; the penalties go to the Treasury's general fund. It does say that if investors sue on the same facts, the respondents may not argue that their penalty should reduce any damages.
CSV · 175 rows
CityVest Capital: SEC order IA-7021 and the Form D filings of 14 CV Manager access funds, 2018-2026
175 rows from the SEC's October 2, 2026 order and the 14 Form D notices of access funds managed by CV Manager LLC.
What this page is, and the rule it follows
The order is a settlement. The three respondents made offers of settlement, the Commission accepted them, and the findings are made “pursuant to Respondents' Offers of Settlement and are not binding on any other person or entity in this or any other proceeding.” They consented to the order without admitting the findings, except as to the SEC's jurisdiction. Nothing here is a court judgment, and no investor loss is found. We name companies, the agency and the release only, not the individual respondent.
The SEC's announcement is four sentences long, and the order is seven pages. What neither contains is the other side of the record: the funds themselves. CityVest's access funds are small private LLCs that each filed a Form D with the SEC, and those notices are public. We read the order in full, then pulled every Form D we could find for funds that name CV Manager LLC as their manager, and put the two side by side. These notices and this order are the public record we found.
What the order finds and what it orders
| Item | What the order says | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Business | CityVest creates and acts as investment adviser to access funds that invest in third-party real estate funds, and sells pro rata membership interests in them to individual investors | Paragraphs 1 and 4 |
| Size | About $47 million raised from December 2018 through December 2022 across about 15 access funds; CityVest had as much as $47 million in assets under management during the period | Paragraphs 1 and 4 |
| Registration | Neither CityVest nor CV Manager has ever been registered with the Commission; CV Manager is the manager of each of the 15 access funds | Paragraphs 4 and 5 |
| The conduct | $425,000 borrowed from three access funds between July 2019 and May 2025, at points when the three funds did not owe CityVest any fees | Paragraph 2 |
| Why it matters | The loans were used in part to meet CityVest's operating expenses, including payroll, and created material conflicts of interest that were not fully and fairly disclosed to or consented to by the three funds and their investors | Paragraph 2 |
| The standard | Section 206(2) of the Advisers Act; proof of scienter is not required and a violation may rest on negligence | Paragraph 21 |
| Repayment | Repaid in full, including interest that was fully paid by July 2, 2025 | Paragraph 2 |
| Sanctions | Cease and desist from violating Section 206(2); all three respondents censured | Section IV, A and B |
| Penalties | $10,000 civil money penalty on CityVest and $10,000 on the individual, each within 30 days of the order, paid to the Treasury's general fund; none on CV Manager | Section IV, C and D |
| Investors | No disgorgement, prejudgment interest or payment to investors is ordered | Section IV |
| Private suits | In any suit by investors on the same facts, the respondents may not argue for an offset of damages by the amount of the penalty | Section IV, E |
| Bankruptcy | For the individual only, the findings are treated as admitted for purposes of Section 523 of the Bankruptcy Code, so amounts owed under the order are not dischargeable | Section V |
The individual respondent also held securities-industry registrations (Series 14, 24, 63, 79 and 99) that he terminated in November 2022, according to paragraph 6 of the order. The order does not say which registration exemption, if any, CityVest relied on while advising the funds, and it does not charge a registration violation.
The loans, one by one
The order anonymizes the funds: “Fund names are anonymized for purposes of this Order.” It calls them Access Fund 1, 2 and 3 and the lenders “the Three Access Funds.”
| Date | Fund | Amount | What the order says | Days outstanding (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 19, 2018 | Fund 1 | None yet | Loan agreement signed letting CityVest take loans from Fund 1 “up to the amount of cash on hand at any time” | n/a |
| July 10, 2019 | Fund 1 | $100,000 | Taken from about $700,000 awaiting investment; CityVest's account had a negative balance of $828.05; used for advertising and payroll | 72 (to September 20, 2019) |
| September 20, 2019 | Fund 2 | $150,000 | Took the whole of an investor's $150,000 investment made the day before, to repay Fund 1; the investor was not told | 179 (to March 17, 2020) |
| November 2019 to January 2020 | Fund 2 | $40,000 | Further loans while Fund 2 was still raising money, used for operating expenses including payroll | Repaid March 17, 2020 |
| December 13, 2019 | Fund 2 | $75,000 | An investor's check made out to CityVest by mistake was deposited into CityVest's account and used for payroll, rent and advertising; no loan agreement, note or interest | Repaid March 17, 2020 |
| October 16, 2024 | Fund 3 | $30,000 | Five days after the third-party fund paid Fund 3 a $103,000 distribution; the loan agreement of October 15, 2024 allowed use “for any purpose” | About 286 (to July 29, 2025) |
| May 7, 2025 | Fund 3 | $30,000 | After a further distribution of about $484,000 in December 2024; over and above fees Fund 3 owed | 83 (to July 29, 2025) |
Reading it together (our arithmetic). The itemized amounts above add to $425,000 only when the $75,000 check is included: $100,000 + $150,000 + $40,000 + $30,000 + $30,000 = $350,000, and $350,000 + $75,000 = $425,000. The order's summary calls all $425,000 borrowed, so a reader should know that one of the six components was never papered as a loan. Seen by fund, that is $100,000 from Fund 1, $265,000 from Fund 2 and $60,000 from Fund 3.
The interest figures are small. CityVest paid $789.04 on the Fund 1 loan on July 2, 2025, six years after the loan, and $4,305 on the Fund 3 loans between October 2024 and July 2025. The interest on Fund 2's loans was netted against fund expenses at the fund's wind-down at the end of 2023, and the order gives no amount. The order states no rate, but $789.04 equals 4.0% simple annual interest on $100,000 for 72 days (our arithmetic: $100,000 × 0.04 × 72 / 365).
Two ratios show how tight cash was. The Fund 1 loan took 14.3% of the $700,000 waiting to be invested ($100,000 / $700,000), and the first Fund 3 loan was 29.1% of the distribution that arrived five days earlier ($30,000 / $103,000), both our arithmetic. The order explains the pattern: the funds relied on distributions from the third-party funds to pay fees owed to CityVest. In its words, “Depending on the timing of the distributions, CityVest at times experienced cash shortages.”
What the funds told investors
The order quotes the operating agreements. Each said the manager was responsible for its own overhead and personnel-related expenses, and gave the manager powers that included deciding “the borrowing of money and the granting of security interests in the Fund's assets (including loans from Members).” The order's finding is that the documents given to investors “did not disclose that the access funds could make loans to CityVest.”
The funds' Form D notices fit that picture of small, thin disclosure. Seven of the 14 report a payment to related persons of $10,000 each, described as “a one-time cost to cover fund organizational and operating expenses,” which totals $70,000 (our arithmetic). The other seven report $0, and six of those add “Admin fees and expense reimbursements are not determinable at this time.” The notices do not mention loans.
The 14 CV Manager funds on EDGAR
We searched Form D filings for the manager name and for CityVest's New York address (110 East 59th Street) and found 14 funds. All 14 name CV Manager LLC as manager. Amounts are as reported on each fund's single Form D.
| Fund | First sale | Form D filed | Amount sold | Investors | Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DLP Access Fund 2 LLC | March 6, 2020 | March 10, 2020 | $1,634,000 | 26 | $50,000 |
| Medical Properties Access Fund LLC | March 10, 2020 | March 11, 2020 | $4,167,000 | 98 | $50,000 |
| Apex Access Fund LLC | June 5, 2020 | July 2, 2020 | $335,000 | 7 | $50,000 |
| JKV Access Fund LLC | August 14, 2020 | September 10, 2020 | $3,040,000 | 74 | $10,000 |
| Trion Access Fund LLC | November 20, 2020 | December 3, 2020 | $3,092,500 | 73 | $10,000 |
| Clairmont Access Fund LLC | December 30, 2020 | January 5, 2021 | $6,435,000 | 106 | $10,000 |
| McFarlin Access Fund LLC | March 17, 2021 | March 24, 2021 | $3,500,000 | 79 | $25,000 |
| Catalyst Access Fund LLC | June 30, 2021 | June 30, 2021 | $4,900,000 | 73 | $25,000 |
| CalNeva Access Fund LLC | October 26, 2021 | November 10, 2021 | $1,630,000 | 39 | $25,000 |
| KCAP Access Fund LLC | December 31, 2021 | January 14, 2022 | $2,921,000 | 52 | $25,000 |
| AmRoc Access Fund LLC | April 1, 2022 | April 8, 2022 | $3,705,000 | 60 | $25,000 |
| Catalyst Access Fund 2 LLC | June 20, 2022 | July 5, 2022 | $4,552,000 | 84 | $25,000 |
| Croatan Access Fund LLC | January 2, 2023 | January 17, 2023 | $1,910,000 | 44 | $25,000 |
| Medical Income Access Fund LLC | August 7, 2023 | August 18, 2023 | $1,535,000 | 32 | $25,000 |
What the 14 notices add up to (our arithmetic).
| Measure | Figure | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Funds with a Form D | 14 | Each has one filing and no amendment, per EDGAR's filing index for each fund |
| Total amount sold | $43,356,500 | As of each fund's first and only Form D |
| Sold in funds first selling in 2020 | $18,703,500 | 6 funds |
| Sold in funds first selling in 2021 | $12,951,000 | 4 funds |
| Sold in funds first selling in 2022 | $8,257,000 | 2 funds |
| Sold in funds first selling in 2023 | $3,445,000 | 2 funds |
| Largest and smallest fund | $6,435,000 and $335,000 | Clairmont (106 investors) and Apex (7 investors) |
| Investor counts added together | 847 | An investor in two funds is counted twice |
Four things stand out. First, the notices do not reconcile exactly to the order. The order says about $47 million across about 15 funds from December 2018 to December 2022. The 14 notices total $43,356,500, and the earliest first-sale date among them is March 6, 2020, whereas the order dates the first access fund's fundraising to December 2018 and January 2019, when it had raised about $1.4 million. Adding that fund gives 15 funds and $44,756,500 (our arithmetic), $2,243,500 short of $47 million. The gap may be sales after a fund's Form D was filed: four funds report an offering amount of “Indefinite,” and no notice was amended. Whatever the reason, the order does not say which Form D belongs to Fund 1, 2 or 3, so we match none of them.
Second, filing timing. Rule 503(a)(1) requires a Form D “no later than 15 calendar days after the first sale of securities in the offering.” Twelve of the 14 were filed within 15 days of the date of first sale they report. Apex and JKV were filed 27 days after (our arithmetic), even allowing for the 15th day falling on a Saturday in both cases, which moves the deadline to the next business day. That is our reading of the dates the notices report.
Third, the exemption claims changed. The seven funds first selling between March 2020 and March 2021 claim Rule 506(b) with the Investment Company Act section 3(c)(1) exclusion. The next six, from June 2021 to January 2023, claim Rule 506(c) with section 3(c) and 3(c)(1). The last, Medical Income Access Fund in August 2023, lists 506(b) only. Our guide to reading a Form D explains the codes, and our 506(b) versus 506(c) census shows how common each is.
Fourth, outside administrators. The seven earliest notices also name Assure Fund Management II, LLC of Salt Lake City, as a “special administrator” or “administrative manager.” The other seven notices name only CV Manager LLC.
A note on names: DLP Access Fund 2 LLC here is a private LLC with its own CIK, 1789079. It is a different registrant from the DLP Access Fund interval fund in our page on DLPAX. Nothing in the order or the notices links the two, and we make no link.
Timeline
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| December 19, 2018 | Loan agreement signed letting CityVest borrow from the first access fund up to its cash on hand | Order, paragraph 10 |
| July 10, 2019 | First loan, $100,000, from Fund 1 | Order, paragraph 11 |
| March 6, 2020 | Earliest first-sale date among the 14 Form Ds (DLP Access Fund 2 LLC); filed March 10, 2020 | Form D |
| March 17, 2020 | Fund 2 loans and the $75,000 repaid, without interest at that time | Order, paragraphs 14 and 15 |
| December 31, 2020 | Fund 3 closes, having raised about $5.9 million | Order, paragraph 16 |
| End of 2023 | Fund 2 winds down; its loan interest netted against fund expenses | Order, paragraph 19 |
| October 15, 2024 | Fund 3 loan agreement allowing use “for any purpose” | Order, paragraph 17 |
| May 7, 2025 | Last loan, $30,000, from Fund 3 | Order, paragraph 18 |
| July 2, 2025 | Interest on the Fund 1 loan paid | Order, paragraph 19 |
| July 29, 2025 | Outstanding Fund 3 loans repaid | Order, paragraph 18 |
| October 2, 2026 | SEC order and announcement | Order; SEC announcement |
| November 1, 2026 (our arithmetic) | Both $10,000 penalties due, 30 days after the order | Order, Section IV |
What is not known
- Which funds were the three. The order anonymizes them, so no investor can tell from the public record whether a given fund is among the three. The manager can.
- Whether investors in the three funds were told afterwards. The order records no notice to investors and orders none.
- Whether the penalties were paid. The order set a deadline of 30 days from entry; nothing we read reports payment.
- The current state of the funds. No Form D was amended after the first filing, and these funds file nothing else with the SEC. Fund 2 wound down in 2023 per the order; the others' status is not in any public document we found.
- Why CityVest was unregistered. The order says it never registered and does not say whether an exemption applied.
What a reader can do with this
- Match your fund to the list. If you hold an interest in an access fund from this manager, check the name against the 14 above and the accession number in our CSV. If it is not on the list, the Form D search for the manager name is how we built it, so ask the manager for the fund's formation documents.
- Ask for the loan paper. Investors in a private fund can ask the manager in writing for the operating agreement, any loan agreements or promissory notes with the manager or CityVest, the interest paid, and the fund's financial statements. The order shows such documents existed for the three funds.
- Read your own K-1 and statements for related-party items. Our guide to K-1 boxes for real estate funds shows where fees and related-party payments appear.
- Know what the order does and does not give you. It makes no finding that investors lost money and orders no payment to them. It records that investors may bring their own actions and that findings are not binding on anyone else; whether that matters for a given holder is a question for a securities lawyer.
- Compare with an adviser's duty. Section 206(2) is part of the Advisers Act duty described in our page on what a fiduciary financial advisor owes you. For another sponsor case that began with a registered-adviser order, see our page on the SQN Capital Management receivership.
FAQ
Update alert · free
An email when the CityVest access funds numbers change
When a rate, rule or filing behind this page changes: what changed, the one number that matters, and the source to check it yourself.
All figures are from primary documents read on November 4, 2026: the SEC's Order Instituting Administrative and Cease-and-Desist Proceedings, Advisers Act Release No. 7021, File No. 3-22769 (October 2, 2026), and the SEC's announcement of that date (last reviewed October 8, 2026), both on sec.gov; 17 CFR 230.503 (Form D filing deadline); and 14 Form D notices on EDGAR for DLP Access Fund 2 LLC (accession 0001791537-20-000004), Medical Properties Access Fund LLC (0001806300-20-000005), Apex Access Fund LLC (0001805472-20-000001), JKV Access Fund LLC (0001823611-20-000001), Trion Access Fund LLC (0001834544-20-000001), Clairmont Access Fund LLC (0001832754-21-000001), McFarlin Access Fund LLC (0001838820-21-000001), Catalyst Access Fund LLC (0001868982-21-000001), CalNeva Access Fund LLC (0001893301-21-000001), KCAP Access Fund LLC (0001904466-22-000001), AmRoc Access Fund LLC (0001922305-22-000001), Catalyst Access Fund 2 LLC (0001929451-22-000002), Croatan Access Fund LLC (0001962308-23-000001) and Medical Income Access Fund LLC (0001989903-23-000001). This is analysis of public documents, not investment, legal or tax advice.
Keep reading.
- 0119 min read
Blox Lending and DEBT Box: SEC Alleges $200 Million Crypto Offering Fraud, Filed October 28, 2026
SEC complaint No. 2:26-cv-01066 (D. Utah) alleges DEBT Box sold $200M of crypto licenses to 100,000+ investors, with $101M of their money used to buy tokens.
- 0218 min read
Broad Street Global Fund: SEC Alleges $1 Billion Offering Fraud, Monitor Named April 21, 2025
SEC v. Broad Street Global Management (No. 1:25-cv-20436) alleges over $1 billion raised, $880 million moved and $42.9 million of unearned returns.
- 0315 min read
E-Estate Group: Texas Emergency Cease and Desist Order Over $10 Tokenized Real Estate, June 1, 2026
What Texas alleges about E-Estate Group's EST token real estate offering, its promised payouts, and the $35 million its SEC Form D reports. As of Nov 4, 2026.